My first day teaching (sort of)

Seoul American Elementary School Good Neighbor...

Image by USAGYongsan via Flickr

(This post is from October 4th.)

Who would’ve thought I could teach?! Well, not too well I’d have to say.

Today was my official first day at school. I am teaching children of a variety of ages; from Pre-K to sixth grade. I love kids and these kids are so extremely cute! I absolutely fell in love. Just like dogs, kids normally like me, too. It’s a mystery to me, but this I can proudly say. 😉 (Too bad I do not want to be a teacher.) Of course, there are some students who are a little wild sometimes, just a little, but after several commands they listen.

I always enjoy the littlest children; they’re so cute, so cuddly and so much fun. But the older ones are also adorable. There seems to be something about me that fascinates them — seriously, the way that some of them listen and look at me is not normal. They don’t intimidate me though; I think they just thirst for knowledge.

Yesterday, in preparation for today, my coordinator and another teacher showed me around and introduced me to the rest of the staff and all the kids. I visited about ten different classrooms (repeating things like my nationality and my likes each and every time). They asked for my name, where I’m from, my favorite food, etc. By the end of the introduction, my throat was begging for water. The staff members are really nice people and they have been very helpful so far.

In terms of the Spanish “ways” I must say that I was a little surprised at first when I saw how teachers teach their students here. I walked into a room yesterday where a kid was standing inside a corner facing the wall. For a few a seconds I thought, what is he doing? But then I almost immediately realized that he was being punished and that he was in some some sort of “time-out”. At another class, a teacher shook a child—about 8 years old—to make him stop talking. It shocked me because I know you can’t do that in America…I think?

In any case, I do not agree with the way they discipline the kids at school, but I guess I have to respect their culture. Open mind, I tell myself.

So far I’m really enjoying talking to the kids. They look clueless most of the time because I have to speak to them in English, but I’m now using more physical movements and facial expressions so that they can better understand. One girl keeps asking in Spanish, “Do you speak any Spanish?” I said that I don’t (doing as I was told) and she then said, “But you have understood what I said.” ha ha! It’s torture, but it’s for their own good. That’s a proven good way of learning another language.

I think it’s funny though because I obviously have this accent, you know…

Anyway, I also got my schedule yesterday and it looks awesome! I will work Tuesdays through Thursdays from 9:00AM to 2:00PM. That means that I have a four-day weekend (or four and a half) to do whatever I want in Spain and tra. Me encanta!

7 thoughts on “My first day teaching (sort of)

  1. I’m going to follow this closely so I have an idea of what to expect when I start teaching there next year. Keep updating please! Gregorio Ahlswede

  2. Marcia, you will be a wonderful teacher. Just help those children to believe in themselves.
    I was surprised to read about children standing in the corner and someone shaking a child! That is really against the law here in the USA. You can not lay a hand on a child. Wow!!! surprising really.
    Love reading your blog. We miss you also.
    Blessings on you and all you are about
    Suze

  3. Amiguita,
    Si necesitas técnicas solo avísame pues yo tengo bastantes. Llevo en esto siete años y ya estoy hecha una veterana jaja. Mucha suerte amiguita. Yo voy a ti 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Mentor « Smokebear

Leave a Reply

